Final stages prediction for 2010 World Cup

Since I am playing silly clairvoyant I thought why not go ahead and make predictions all the way to the end. So here goes nothing. (and in case you are wondering how I know who is playing in the quarters please check my last post)

Quarter Finals:
QF1
NED NED – BRA BRA
If Brazil reach this stage there is no way they are going to lose this one, unless people in team fall sick like in a certain final!!! The game should be enjoyable though.
QF2
URU URU – USA USA: Uruguay wins, cause I want them to. However this one will be a tough one again as USA seems to be one team who play to their opponents weaknesses rather than a preset plan. I think Uruguay has more raw talent though.
QF3
ARG ARG – ENG ENG
Again like Brazil I expect Argentina to win this straight forward whoever be their opposition. England will not stand a chance. They may restrict Argentina to a smaller score but that’s about it.
QF4
PAR PAR –  POR POR
This one is a difficult one to call. I will go with Paraguay just to see a South Americans in the semis.

And if things go according to my plan what we will have is a fantastic south American semi-final.

Semi Finals:
URU URU – BRA BRA
Should be a good match with Brazil winning. Again this will be a tough one in my opinion but I want Brazil to reach the final 🙂
ARG ARG – PAR PAR
This should be easier than the other semis. If Argentina play to current form I do not see how they will be defeated.

which then brings us to the dream pairing for the final

Final:
ARG ARG – BRA BRA
This one, I fervently pray, will not be war of cards but rather an ode to the beautiful game as played in South America. While this match promises to be tight either way, I think Argentina can win it. This is because in addition to the team Brazil will have Maradona to content with and that is no laughing matter. So for now I believe it will Argentina picking up the Fifa World Cup.

( Also in case you are interested Uruguay will take third place :))

So that is how the matches are going to play out according to me. Will add edits and posts to adjust for any changes 😛

Statutory Warning: If you have still not got the fact that I know zilch about football then just keep this in mind, I am not putting any money down on basis of my clairvoyance.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Leave a Reply

