Top 100 books and remembrances

Writing after such a long time and what better way to start than to talk about books.
My mate Annon has just put up the top 100 books list and was wondering how the number of books his friend had read.

Before I start let me make it very clear that I am a pulp fiction reader and do not consider myself a “literate” reader.

So here are the books I have read from the list (as well as some near misses and some in my todo list):

The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald :
A wonderful period book. It was in m lil sis’s study set and I happened to borrow it when I had visited home. Found it beautiful and made me ache for the Jazz period.

Catcher in the Rye, JD Salinger :
I absolutely love it though I can never understand why!!!

The Grapes of Wrath, John Steinbeck :
Todo list

To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee :
Wonderful wonderful book. The only famous book by this author but then again what a phenomenal book!!! A must read for one and all. [It seems this is Superman’s fav book too:)]

The Color Purple, Alice Walker:
Todo list – not very sure about this one.

Ulysses, James Joyce :
Kept missing this one. everytime I looked towards this book for some reason I went back to the original Odysseus:(

Beloved, Toni Morrison :
No idea. Seems interesting.

The Lord of the Flies, William Golding :
Too scared to go through the experience.

1984, George Orwell :
Once again not sure I can go through the experience.

The Sound and the Fury, William Faulkner :
No idea

Lolita, Vladmir Nabokov :
Uninterested, maybe because it feels dirty.

Of Mice and Men, John Steinbeck : No idea

Charlotte’s Web, EB White :
No idea

A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, James Joyce :
Hmmm … not very sure about this one!

Catch-22, Joseph Heller :
Before Hitchhikers there was Catch-22 – the new catchphrase sums it best. Funnily I have never managed to read the whole of it. Someone or the other keeps borrowing this book from me 😦

Brave New World, Aldous Huxley :
No idea

Animal Farm, George Orwell :
Never got around to read it – slightly scared in the same vein as 1984

The Sun Also Rises, Ernest Hemingway :
No idea

As I Lay Dying, William Faulkner :
No idea

A Farewell to Arms, Ernest Hemingway :
I really liked this book – i guess it is because I like art movies too. Great writer.

Heart of Darkness, Joseph Conrad :
No idea

Winnie-the-Pooh, AA Milne :
Not sure if I read the original.

Their Eyes were Watching God, Zora Neale Hurston :
huh!

Invisible Man, Ralph Ellison :
Never read the book – Not to be confused with “The Invisible Man“.

Song of Solomon, Toni Morrison :
No idea

Gone with the Wind, Margaret Mitchell :
Never read the book – The movie was great – my wife found the book to be quite good.

Native Son, Richard Wright :
No idea

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, Ken Kesey :
Am I brave enough?.

Slaughterhouse Five, Kurt Vonnegut :
No idea

For Whom the Bell Tolls, Ernest Hemingway
Need to re-read – remember that I was impressed.

On the Road, Jack Kerouac
ToDo

The Old Man and the Sea, Ernest Hemingway
ToDo

The Call of the Wild, Jack London :
Read abridged version and saw it in myriad media but never read the original:(

To the Lighthouse, Virginia Woolf :
No idea

Portrait of a Lady, Henry James :
No idea

Go Tell it on the Mountain, James Baldwin :
I like the title – no idea about the book.

The World According to Garp, John Irving :
hmmmm … think i should check this one out!

All the King’s Men, Robert Penn Warren :
Never read it – is it the same as the new movie(interestingly casting another Penn – this time Sean)?

A Room with a View , EM Forster :
Not interested.

The Lord of the Rings, JRR Tolkien :
The best – brought me into a fantasy world which I have never really got out of

Schindler’s List, Thomas Keneally :
never read the book. The movie was fantastic. However I do not think I can go through that experience again.

The Age of Innocence, Edith Wharton :
No idea

The Fountainhead, Ayn Rand :
I read it after Atlas Shrugged – so i was less impressed. Nonetheless many of my ideas on how to lead lifewere based on what I took from these two books. Still, I prefer Atlas Shrugged.

Finnegans Wake, James Joyce :
ToDo

The Jungle, Upton Sinclair :
No idea

Mrs. Dalloway, Virginia Woolf :
No idea

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, Frank L. Baum :
Currently reading it – By God! it is such a well written tale – why did I not get it when I was younger. A must read for the young’uns. infact it is a great book to read aloud.

Lady Chatterley’s Lover, DH Lawrence :
Ho-hum not interested – though i guess it must have been a scandal when it was released:)

A Clockwork Orange, Anthony Burgess :
I really want to read this or see it but again am not very sure I want to go through that experience.

The Awakening, Kate Chopin :
No idea

My Antonia, Willa Cather :
No idea

Howard’s End, EM Forster :
Not interested.

In Cold Blood, Truman Capote :
No idea

Franny and Zooey, JD Salinger :
Never knew about this one.

Satanic Verses, Salman Rushdie :
Nope – maybe todo.

Jazz, Toni Morrison :
ToDo

Sophie’s Choice, William Styron :
No idea

Absalom, Absalom!, William Faulkner :
Not in my immediate list

Passage to India, EM Forster :
Saw the movie – alright – interesting plot though.

Ethan Frome, Edith Wharton :
No idea

A Good Man is Hard to Find, Flannery O’Connor :
Interesting title – no idea

Tender is the Night, F. Scott Fitzgerald :
advice?

Orlando, Virginia Woolf :
No idea

Sons and Lovers, DH Lawrence :
Hate this book. Never read it but caused a lot of domestic turmoil for me 😉

Bonfire of the Vanities, Thomas Wolfe :
ToDo

Cat’s Cradle, Kurt Vonnegut :
advice?

A Separate Peace, John Knowles :
advice?

Light in August, William Faulkner :
Advice?

The Wings of the Dove, Henry James :
No idea

Things Fall Apart, Chinua Achebe :
No idea

Rebecca, Daphne du Maurier :
No idea

The Hithchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Douglas Adams :
The top after LOTR – ’nuff said! Hi Sujith.

Naked Lunch, William S. Burroughs :
No idea

Brideshead Revisited, Evelyn Waugh :
uninterested.

Women in Love, DH Lawrence :
Totally uninterested.

Look Homeward, Angel, Thomas Wolfe :
Uninterested.

In Our Time, Ernest Hemingway :
Someday todo.

The Autobiography of Alice B. Toklas, Gertrude Stein :
???

The Maltese Falcon, Dashiell Hammett :
saw and liked the movie – guess time to read the book.

The Naked and the Dead, Norman Mailer :
ToDo

The Wide Sargasso Sea, Jean Rhys :
Man! That was one sensual movie which used to be shown on DD on Friday late nights. Never read the book though.

White Noise, Don DeLillo :
ToDo

O Pioneers!, Willa Cather :
No idea

Tropic of Cancer, Henry Miller :
Someday ToDo

The War of the Worlds, HG Wells :
Read it many abridged forms.

Lord Jim, Joseph Conrad :
Uninterested

The Bostonians, Henry James :
Advice?

An American Tragedy, Theodore Dreiser :
Ho-hum

Death Comes for the Archbishop, Willa Cather :
interesting title

The Wind in the Willows, Kenneth Grahame :
Saw the animation – always wanted to read it.

This Side of Paradise, F. Scott Fitzgerald :
Hmmm…

Atlas Shrugged, Ayn Rand :
This is the one I really like from Ayn Rand. This and “Zen and The Art Of Motorcycle” helped me through a major part of my late teens.

The French Lieutenant’s Woman, John Fowles :
Uninterested

Babbitt, Sinclair Lewis :
???

Kim, Rudyard Kipling :
Never managed to finish it … quite slow in the beginning.

The Beautiful and the Damned, F. Scott Fitzgerald :
Advice?

Rabbit, Run, John Updike :
ToDo

Where Angels Fear to Tread, EM Forster :
Hmmm…

Main Street, Sinclair Lewis :
No idea

Midnight’s Children, Salman Rushdie :
Never finished it. Don’t know why?

Some other novels I really like:

Crime and Punishment, Fyodor Dostoevsky:
Wrenched my soul completely – this was a hell of a book to go through.

The Mayor of Casterbridge, Thomas Hardy:
Another beautiful book that I read beacuse it was in my aunt’s study books.

Zen and The Art Of Motorcycle Maintenance, Robert Pirsig:
My personal Bible

Later i will write about some of my new purchases and pulp fiction books I like.
Please do add your thoughts either here or at your sites. Advice of any kind will be very welcome.

Njoy:)

P.S: should have posted it at least 2 days ago – however putting up all the links took up some time

10 thoughts on “Top 100 books and remembrances

  1. The top 100 list is only of books written originally in English. No translated versions of those written in any other language.

    Ah well! No wonder Dostoyevsky or Verne for instance, aren’t on that list.

  2. To be fair Sarat it IS just A list. I just used it as a medium to get writing again.
    Again I looked around my bookshelf and realised that I am a pulp fiction guy myself – never really understanding literature, per se!
    Maybe I am turning into a hoarder of books rather than reader of books 🙂 Ah Well!

  3. Yes… Yes… I understand it is just a list. But, if YOU don’t understand literature then I don’t know how to pick up a pencil! 😉

    I guess I largely survived on a diet of pulp-fiction myself, though I’ve probably read only half the number of books than you have. Imagine tho, if we had grown up on what they call “classic” literature – we’d all be even bigger pompous asses than we already are.

  4. Which is why I gave up reading a long time ago … stick to “graphic novels” … or comics as some of them like to call it 😉

    and Sarat – you never could pick up a pencil 😛

    Brij – how come there is no 2001, 2010, three men in a boat or “the prophet” in this list?
    (that pretty much summarizes my reading as you can see 😉 )

    -venky.

  5. I thought it was a pretty good list personally.

    Sarat, Dostoyevsky is represented in the list through ‘Crime and Punishment’. I would have put The Brothers Karamazov in there as well (probably at the very top).

  6. Raoul, which list are you referring to? Anon’s list doesn’t have C&P ( as much as I looked through).

    It’s Brij’s list that does – that too under some other books he really likes which weren’t mentioned in the list.

    By the way – thanks for the Steinbeck you gifted me earlier.:)

  7. Sarat – I agree – we are quite pompous in our humility too:)
    Raoul – I think Sarat has clarified the list point.
    Venky – It was not an exhaustive list. In fact you have given me a good idea. I can add one more page for books:) However I am not a very big fan of 2010 – and have never managed to finsih the book 3 men and a boat, though I appreciate it’s humour. Guess I am getting jaded 😉

    Speaking about Graphic novels I have splurged on them in the recent past – but that’s topic for another post 😉

  8. Ah!!! This spares me from maintaining a list of books. Covers almost everything, the only flipside is I cannot come back and scratch an entry once I read and/or buy the book.

Leave a Reply

