Roobaroo Translation – redux

Venky has put up a wonderful translation of this song at his site.

I thought I would try my hand at it. So I jotted down the poetry that came to my mind as I heard this song.

aye saala
Damn…

abhi abhi huaa yaqeen ki aag hai mujh mein kahi
hui subaah; main jal gaya
suraj ko main nigal gaya
ruu-ba-ruu roshni heyy – 2

Not but a moment ago,
I have realised,
A fire’s ablaze in my soul;
It’s dawn,
I am aflame,
I have eclipsed the sun
I am Light.


jo gumshuda-sa khwaab tha voh mil gaya voh khil gaya
who loha thaa pighal gaya kichhaa kichhaa machal gaya
sitaar mein badal gaya
ruu-ba-ruu roshni heyy

My lost dream,
I have found it,
And it has bloomed.

Tough as metal,
It used to be,
But now it stretches out dancing,
Turning into the melodious strings of the sitar.

I am face-to-face with Light.

(dhuaan chhataa khula gagan mera
nayi dagar naya safar mera
jo ban sake tu hamsafar mera
nazar mila zara) – 2

The smoke clears,
The open skies are mine;
New paths open up; new journeys await me.
If you were to accompany me,
Match your stride with mine.

aandhiyon se jaghad rahi hai lau meri
ab mashaalon si bhad rahi hai lau meri
naamo nishaan rahe na rahe
ye kaaravaan rahe na rahe
ujaale mein pee gaya
roshan huaa jee gaya
kyon sehte rahe
ruu-ba-ruu roshni heyy – 2

My ardent desires clash with the violent storms,
they keep burning brighter like the torches;
I don’t care,
Whether I leave a mark –
or whether this world exists any more.

I drink in the sunlight;
it makes me radiant and alive;
why live in torment anymore?

I’m face to face with light.

Satori

5 thoughts on “Roobaroo Translation – redux

  1. this is too good dude.. but put the english line beneath the hindi wordings so tat wil be quite easy.. coz some words i cant match for hindi to English as i am basic in Hindhi

  2. this is too good dude.. but put the english line beneath the hindi wordings so tat wil be quite easy.. coz some words i cant match for hindi to English as i am basic in Hindhi,…….

Leave a Reply

