Ramayana

Dudes,
I jut remembered a piece of info I wanted to share with all. I recently happened to chance upon a version of the Ramayan by Ashok Banker. It is in fact a series. I must say I liked it. Is it true to the original…well… it is the same story but the details tend to be quite different. So if you want to read the Ramayana we all know and revere then the best version is C.Rajagoplachari’s. However if you want to read the epic as a beautiful fantasy this new series is really worth the big bucks. Check it out!!!

2 thoughts on “Ramayana

  1. I have not read Rajagopalachari’s version of Ramayana but I can get what might have been the real version meant when they said Ramayana.

    I think Valmiki’s version itself was a hugely modified version to cater to the Aryan people and tastes who later occupied whole of India.

    I think Rama’s legacy lies in discovery of Agriculture that turned the cultures across asia from Hunters to Farmers as shown in the film 10000 BC.I seriously felt the movie script closely resembles the Ramayana script.

    For more illustrations read on in my blog c:
    http://pinastro.wordpress.com/2008/04/16/the-great-ramayana-script-continues-to-inspirethis-time-hollywood/

  2. After some exhaustive research, I have reached to a conclusion that versions of Ramayana exists in many languages, including Annamese, Balinese, Bengali, Cambodian, Chinese, Gujarati, Javanese, Kannada, Kashmiri, Khotanese, Laotian, Malaysian, Marathi, Oriya, Prakrit, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sinhalese, Tamil, Telugu, Thai, Tibetan, etc. In Sanskrit itself there are 25 different versions. According to A. K. Ramanujam, more than 300 tellings of Ramayana exist.

    Each has newer dimensions, more fascinating than the other.

    Read them in reverse order here- http://souravroy.com/?s=too+many+ramayanas

Leave a Reply

